Free them, and free yourself.

Now I know that this blog probably won’t make many people I know happy. And you know that’s OK with me. I wasn’t put here to make the world happy, sometimes I feel like i was put here to be a messenger. Not everyone’s sneaky messenger either. I wasn’t put here to be everyone’s eyes and ears to be used against one another. So lets just go ahead and get that straight. I do however sit back and I watch people. I watch everyone around me I observe so when people just assume I have no idea what’s going on. I let them. 

The quieter you become, the more you can hear. ~Ram dass

People, we teach our children all the time. “Be honest, tell the truth. Go ahead just tell me the truth” When we ourselves aren’t honest! Yet we get mad at our children when they are not honest with us, or when our friends are dishonest and even family members, strangers. EVERYONE is a liar. I use to take pride on being a honest person, but there is no pride in honesty. It’s a dirty job that someone has to do and it’s hard to do with grace. However, even I lie too. Again, everyone does. We are human. Only Christ was pure and honest and all things good. Like children innocent, until we the world show them things that make their eyes no longer innocent fill their heads with lies so they are no longer pure. 

But why lie? Did a lie ever spare you? No, it might have saved your feelings, and I don’t mean someones honesty in an opinion.

“Do you like my hair today?” and they say “Oh yea it looks great!” when they are really thinking, “No i think you look ridiculous” I am not talking about this. One that is just their opinion, it isn’t a fact, should they have been honest? Sure they should have, there IS a nice way to tell the truth. But i believe more than anything that it is NONE of your business what other think of you. Right up there with honesty. 

What I am saying here is. “Did you do that?” A question i am sure we have all heard or “Did you actually say that?” 

“Did you know?” the list is endless. And our answer comes out as “No” when we know its a lie. Where does that get you? I’ll tell you right now it gets you no where. No one likes a liar. 

 

A dishonest man spreads strife, and a whisperer separates close friends. Proverbs 16:28

If you think you are sparing someone the hurt of the truth… you are wrong. You are not helping them by lying for them or lying to them. 

 

Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices Colossians 3:9 

If you want honesty you have to give out honesty, if you aren’t willing to tell the truth or if you are ashamed to even admit the truth perhaps you should not have done whatever if is you feel you have to hide to begin with. Don’t demand the truth if you yourself are not willing to accept and speak the truth yourself. 

“It’s a puzzling thing. The truth knocks on the door and you say, `Go away, I’m looking for the truth.’ And so it goes away puzzling.” -Robert M. pirsig

Does the truth hurt? Yes… It does, Sometimes the truth is like a knife and it cuts your straight down to your core. Sometimes the truth hurts so bad that it can leave you broken, wondering so many things in your life. Leaving you feeling uncertain. It can make you doubt the ones you love when the truth finally comes out. And some ask how is that better to let the truth out and to hurt those around me by the things I have done than to just keep them to myself? How will that person ever truly know you or know if they can pick them self back up, how will you ever know if they can love and forgive you and move past it if you don’t give them that chance? How will either of you ever trust the other with all you have if neither of you are ever even given that chance with that kind of trust? Honesty in EVERY relationship is important. Right there next to its best friend trust and love.  

Half of you have already blown this off, I probably lost some of you at the bible verses others of you are probably tired of the endless circles I am probably talking. To those of you who are still reading… maybe you needed this as much as I needed to say it. Maybe you are still reading in hopes that you will come to some miraculous conclusion by the end of my blog. (Probably not) I am only here to say that. Lying is toxic. If you are lying because you think you are protecting someone, maybe its because you yourself are unable to accept the truth. You feel like its easier to live in the lie, maybe you have been there so long you don’t even realize you are there anymore. Or because accepting the truth hurts to much. Maybe you feel like by accepting the truth you have some how failed the person you are lying for. You haven’t. We ALL make our own choices and chose to live our lives the way we chose. It’s time to take a stand for your own life, break away. Take responsibility for your own actions your own life, be honest with yourself and others around you. A life away from lies, living in the truth is a better way to live than living that lie and not really living at all.

Above all, be true to yourself, and if you cannot put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.–Hardy D. Jackson

 

Image

One thought on “Free them, and free yourself.

  1. Pingback: Truth Should Never Hurt | Revolutionary Paideia

Leave a comment